Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Price is Right Live Show

So ever since I was a child I have dreamed of being on The Price is Right. I have never been to California or have had the finances to plan a trip there. It is definitely something on my bucket list though. Being in the military if we ever do get close to California I will get tickets someday. So a couple weeks ago I was watching TV and I saw an ad for The Price is Right Live show. I was curious so I went to the website and it looked a lot of fun so I asked my husband if we could buy tickets, he of course said yes. There were two prices 35 and 70. After taxes and fees it came to 99.00 for the cheaper seats. I thought we would at least be on the main level. But to my surprise we wound up in the 2nd balcony.




But we still had a good view of the stage. Plus names were called at random so people up much higher than us got called.

They do things different for the live show compared to what you see on the real show. First it is hosted by Reality TV star Mark L. Wahlberg from Antiques Roadshow. Normally contestants stay in contestant row until they get the closest bid. Three games the wheel etc, etc.
The way this works is they call 4 people at a time and they go up and bid, the winner plays the game and then a new group of 4 get called up, they bid and play game. They do this 3 times so that more people have the opportunity to play the game. Now one thing that they did different was they call 3 new people up to spin the big wheel. Then it is repeated again with 3 more games and then the wheel again. Finally they do the showcase. I really did not like the way this was done. They show all the prizes then they call out one person from the audience to give someone a chance to "play for the showcase" I thought they would do a bid like normal. But instead they chose one of the harder games "Ten Chances" to win the 4 prizes. The woman who was chosen won the first 2 prizes but not the car.

They really did have a nice selection of prizes even though they are scaled back price wise compared to show.

There were some really good games that are a part of the show but not very many prizes were won.


Cliffhanger- iMac Computer (did not win)
Hole in One- Stainless Steal Fridge (did not win)
Punch a Bunch-2500 (won 500)

Plinko-2500 (won 550)
Any Number-Trip to Vegas (did not win)
Showcase- Coffee Pot, PS3, 50" TV, Trip to Hollywood and a Nissan Versa (did not win)

Anyone who played the game and lost was given a 100.00 gift card from Amazon. They gave away a 250.00 gift card to Amazon,  3 25.00 gift cards to Subway and 3 25.00 gift cards to Home Depot to people in the audience who didn't play any games.

My tips for anyone who reads this and is thinking about going to one of these if the show comes to a town near you.

1. Don't pay the extra amount for VIP or better seats. The contestants are picked at random regardless where you are seated.
2. Preregister online otherwise you will wait in line to do that.
3. Don't bother designing a crazy shirt because it is not like the real show. The only people who see them are the audience.
4. Don't bid high on any items when bidding. I am guessing the people who were chosen did not research this because they were bidding 700-800 on a couple items. I think the most expensive item was around 400.00
5. Have fun and enjoy yourself. There was one contestant who seemed so miserable to be there with no personality even the host was having a hard time getting any reaction out of her.
6. Don't expect to be chosen. There are so many people there who all want to get picked and unless you are one of the chosen few (19-20 people)





I wanted to take more pictures but once the announcer started talking they said no cameras so boo :(


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://wsbtdeals.upickem.net/engine/SubmissionWidget.aspx?PageType=VOTING&ContestID=71920&SubmissionID=25121706"></script>

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Crack Dip

Everyone has a go to dish when it comes to a party or a potluck. I am usually told what to bring since it is so addictive and people just gather around it and eat until they can't eat no more. My go to dish is taco dip which I believe it was either my friend Sarah Waggoner or Shannon Kail that renamed it "Crack Dip" because it is so addicting.



Here is the recipe for "Crack Dip"

1 8oz package cream cheese
1 packet taco seasoning
1 can refried beans
1 jar salsa
1 8oz package of shredded mexican cheese
1 small cans of black olives (optional)
JalapeƱos (optional)
1 small container of sour cream
1 tomato chopped or 1 can of diced tomatoes drained.
1-2 bags of tortilla chips

In a bowl mix the cream cheese with the taco seasoning until well blended and spread onto a large platter. Next put the refried beans in a bowl and stir them around until they are creamy and put on top of cream cheese. Next add a layer of salsa, a layer of sour cream, shredded cheese, tomatoes, black olives and jalapeƱos.

Stand back and watch it be devoured


Monday, September 17, 2012

Yard sales etc

I love yard sales. Okay I love yard sales, garage sales, auctions, estate sales and thrift shopping. Recently there was a yard sale down the street from my house. I saw a big tote that said Bratz Dolls 10.00 entire tote. This thing was packed with stuff so i couldnt pass it up. I have been selling stuff on ebay and had some other bratz that i had found and sold. I took it home and it took awhile to sort it all. It had Bratz, Moxie Dolls, a couple Barbies and Liv Dolls. Might i add that Liv dolls are creepy with those eyes. There were also a ton of clothes and accessories too. So i listed everything over the past couple weeks and have managed to make 150.00 off that 10.00 purchase. Unfortunately any money i make on ebay just funds my ebay spending.  I love searching for things that i can sell. It does help supplement my income since i am not working and being a stay at home mom with Londen.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Labor Day Weekend


Labor Day has come and gone once again. Luckily, Jeff had a four day weekend so we were able to do a lot. Friday we had a yard sale and the traffic wasn't too good. We only made about 40.00 this time. I thought with the Blueberry Festival going on it would be busier. I found out towards the end of my sale that if you put a sign on the main road during the festival they will remove it. Jerks..  I was told by our neighbor that our street is very busy during this weekend but it really wasn't. I have decided next year I will have mine on a Monday. I had more people walk past my house that day than any other day. After we finished the sale we had to take Londen to the doctor for a followup appointment. We then drove to Culver and went to the Evil Czech Brewery. Really good food and delicious beer.




We watched some horror movies and
Kyle came over on Friday night to spend the weekend here and hang out with Jeff.
Saturday we went to a bunch of yard sales. I didn't find much but Kyle did buy Londen a Cozy Coupe. She is still too young for it but it was 15.00 and not sun faded like they usually are. After that we came home and got Londen fed and walked over to the Blueberry Festival. I have went almost every year but this was the first time going now that we live in Plymouth. We are only a couple blocks away so we can just walk right over and not have to deal with the traffic and parking. I have staples that I always have to get at any festival. First off those delicious sirloin tips and potatoes. I swear they put crack on the tips. Jeff tried them for the first time and loved them. Next I had to get a frozen chocolate banana. We walked around for a bit and looked at craft booths and took in the smells and sights of the festival.
We went home for a couple hours then headed back for dinner time. Next up a polish sausage sandwich and an Apple Dumpling for dessert. All of my better eating I have done for the past week is out the window this weekend. I am afraid to step on the scale. We walked around some more then went home and hung out put Londen to bed and played some Tetris and Dr.Mario while Kyle got baked and passed out in our yard for 2 hours. Went to Christos for Blueberry pancakes on Sunday and then took Londen to see her grandparents at the car show. Then it started to downpour and we got drenched. Kyle went home Sunday afternoon and I made Pad Thai for dinner.yummo
Monday we took Londen and the dogs to watch the parade. The route is a block away so its really close by. Jeff had to park cars for the Freemasons for a couple hours. After he was done it was one last trip to the festival. Jeff had to have more sirloin tips and I had cheese fries.
It was quite a busy weekend.





Friday, August 24, 2012

Collecting


I've been on a collecting habit for awhile. I love to find things from my childhood. I collect Nancy Drew books, She-ra figures, Vinyl records, 80's toys and lately Barbie. I have been collecting the Nancy Drew books for probably almost 10 years. Out of the 56 books I only have 5 more until the collection is complete. I started out with the yellow series but then the more I researched I saw that the books have been revised and shortened over the past 70 years. Words have been changed and stuff that is offensive to certain races has been removed. I decided I wanted to start finding the older books which are either dark blue with orange or blue tweed. Luckily I love antique stores, thrift shops and flea markets. I have found some really good editions. Plus thankfully there is Ebay to make it easier. Here is a picture of my collection.



After number 38 they were only printed in yellow. I have a few that I want replaced so I need to find those.

I loved these books as a child and started collecting them so that one day if I had a daughter she would have the entire collection at her fingertips. Since I had a little girl in January she will inherit this from me when she is old enough.



Wednesday, August 22, 2012

New Stuff

Londen has been hating her infant carseat for awhile now. I guess it's the reclining position that makes her uncomfortable. I don't blame her because it probably isn't too comfy. I have kind of been waiting until she can sit up on her own before I switch car seats because the infant one comes in handy for shopping. I can just put it on top of the cart and if I switch I am either going to have to carry her or take the stroller into the store. That doesn't work too well. So I had some extra money from my part time job so i went to kmart and bought her a new carseat. She really seems to like it. She didn't fuss much and she is in a much better position. Sure I would love to buy one of the fancy models but I don't have that kind of money so we settled for the Evenflo brand. I did some research and it got good reviews. Plus it was pink. A lot of her stuff in unisex incase we have a boy someday but  think we are one and done. But that is a whole different topic. So anywho we got her the pink one. 

                                                               She loves the iPad







We also tried to let her use a restaurant high chair for the first time and she did really good.

Yesterday though I tried to put her in a shopping cart and she wouldn't sit up straight so I had to carry her around. I guess we will have to try that one a little bit later so pushing her in the stroller is my only option right now :(